My Life Without A Car- August 28th

I do not have a car, I have never had my own car. This means that walking and the bus (or an occasional borrowed car) are my main forms of transportation.

I know some might find it really difficult not having a car, but I love it. I mean, don’t get my wrong, it would be wonderful to have a car when I visit my family instead of taking a three hour bus ride. But overall, I’m glad I don’t have one.

I think that this is mainly because I live in such a great location…

5 minute walk to campus; 1 minute walk to church; 10 minute walk to the grocery store; 30 minute walk to work; and a 10-15 minute bus ride everywhere else. Also, I love walking. If I am to exercise, walking is my go-to choice!

I do a weekly walk to the grocery store where I lug home a bag of food from two different places. Each are ten minutes in opposite directions from my house, so on my way back from one I drop off what I bought already to give arm room for the next store. I like to buy my pantry food at Countdown and my fruits and veggies from Simply Fresh (for the deals and quality)! My bags are usually not too heavy as I only shop for myself.

IMG_1835
This is todays shopping. One bag from Countdown (New Zealand’s Ralph’s) and the other from Simply Fresh ( New Zealand’s Sprouts).
IMG_1832
On my way back home (I live on a busy college street)
IMG_1822
A product of my buys- homemade vegan chocolate. I added peanuts to mine, SO good!
IMG_1837
I also made cinnamon apple chips!

As you can see from my homemade snacks, I’m really trying to find healthy alternative snacks. (I’ll talk more about foods later!)

And back to no car! 

Visiting my family who live 1hr 40mins away? I usually take the bus, or if my dad is up in Auckland for work over the weekend, I on occasion (about every month in a half) borrow his car to drive down to Hamilton for a visit.

When I go to work I know I can easily take the bus but I prefer to save myself a few bucks and walk or run there. Because it’s a cleaning job it doesn’t require a uniform and it being only once a week, it’s no hassle jogging in the sunny/overcast morning.

For leisure I like to go to near by walking trails or to the nearest towns to hang out- Takapuna and Auckland City. I love going to Takapuna beach, which is a 25 minute walk from my house. Its a wonderful little town with a few main streets with some awesome shops. When I go to the city I take the bus (15 mins) because you have to take the freeway to get there. Which is fine with me because if I could walk there it would take FOREVER, well thats an exaggeration (about 2 1/2 hours one-way). I like to go there for a change in scenery and because it reminds me a bit of downtown San Diego.

I’m a little scared that when I do get a car, I will become very lazy. Everything will become that much more convenient for me.

I don’t know for sure what will happen, but for now I will enjoy my on-foot travels. 🙂

P.S.  This was my outfit today because it’s almost spring here!

IMG_1825
Trying to take an artsy picture of my new jeans
IMG_1827
Featuring: my new short hair and Ron Swanson phone cover 😀
IMG_1841
Studying/actually just chilling in my backyard

Can you or do you live without a car? What’s your outlook on it?

Leave a Reply

